Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
VeeCAD Stripboard Editor

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Validation and Project (Read 2860 times)
ceemjay
YaBB Newbies

Your message here...

Validation and Project
Apr 28th, 2008 at 10:18pm

Sorry in advance if these are stupid questions but I am new to this. I have searched the forum for 'validation' and there were none found.

Can someone explain what the Netlist/Validation and Project tabs do on both the free and commercial versions? I am running the free version and had assumed that once I imported a netlist from TinyCad and laid out and connected the components, that Veecad would validate that the layout matched the netlist. Validation shows 'no errors' but then if I move a resistor to a different (and wrong) place there are still 'no errors'. Even deleting the resistor has no affect on Validation, however Project then states that there is 'no item' for that component. Is there any validation or does that only come in the paid version?

How extensive is the outline library in the paid version? Is there a list or index of outlines eg how do I know to use DIP or DIL, is it DIL18 or DIL-18 or what? (As I said I am new to this!!)

Thanks for your perseverance
Clive

IP Logged

Roger Lascelles
Administrator

Clifton Springs, Australia
Re: Validation and Project
Reply #1 - Apr 29th, 2008 at 12:54am

Hello Clive

Your questions are not stupid, but show how tricky CAD can be, and reveal some deficiencies in the VeeCAD help file.  Other users will find this forum topic useful too.

To establish that your layout is correct in paid or free version, you have to use 3 checks:

1. The Validation tab tells you that the netlist you imported is self consistent, without contradictions such as a pin being in two different nets.  An error reported here would be due to a malfunction in your schematic editor, so mostly you will see no errors.