Observations and Tips (Read 3849 times)
DaveJS
YaBB Newbies

Your message here...

Wales UK
Observations and Tips
Sep 22nd, 2008 at 11:07pm

Hello Roger,

I've been using VeeCad for about 6 months, in a number of designs, and now regard it as an essential tool in my "toolbox". Simple to use and does the job well - the best sort of software!

Having used it extensively I'd like to make a few of observations and offer a couple of tips that I've found useful.

First the observations :-

1) Having the links default to red is not good as they don't change colour when selected (changing the "Pin" colour is a work-around).

2) If an item is selected and then say moved then another item is selected the original item is auto-deselected (the desired effect) but if a group is selected, without first clicking on an empty part of the board to deselect the original item it becomes part of the selected group (i.e. no auto-deselection takes place). If not noticed this can lead to some strange net faults after moving the group!

3) The redundant "OK" print button - I know it's been mentioned before but it catches me time after time (sorry senior moments!).

4) Again something mentioned before - Hotkeys would be a boon.

And the tips (I expect they've been suggested before but if they have as I've found them useful I think they are worth repeating) :-

1) Initially make the size of the board much bigger than required to enable storage of components at the bottom of the board whilst working - putting breaks between components will ensure that the "rats-nest" works right from the start.